Week 97: Wilhelmsburg

Our "ode" to our fearless leader... and her husband.

Our “ode” to our fearless leader… and her husband.

Guten Morgen!
This transfer is already over. I remember missionaries telling me at the beginning of my mission how their mission just went by faster and faster towards the end. And that is definitely true! I will be staying here in Wilhelmsburg with Elder Enenkel to finish my mission and Elder Morley will be heading to Glückstadt. No more trio here since there is an even number of missionaries in the mission again. This was President Kosak’s last transfer arrangement. He leaves at the end of the month and then President Fingerle comes. 
 
There really is not all too much for me to report. Almost ALL of our appointments fell out this week for one reason or another. That was really frustrating. But, I still learned many lessons from all these experiences. The Lord made it possible for us to not make it to these places and people so that we could be in a different place to talk to someone or work on cleaning up the contacts in our cell phone. We even called one man who no longer lives in Hamburg, but in Switzerland. So, on our “not so great day” we sent a referral to some Swiss Elders via the Berlin Mission Office and made their day! Hopefully. 
 
This next week we will be teaching one of our investigators about the Plan of Salvation. This plan, which is also called the plan of happiness in the scripture, answers those questions of “Where did I come from? Why am I here? And where do I go after I die?” I think this is my favorite lesson to teach. It is through the scriptures and the Restoration that we know the answers to these questions.
 
Yesterday in the Sunday School hour at church I met with a few of the English-speaking members and we had a little class. We didn’t have a lesson prepared. As we prayed at the beginning of our class, I asked Heavenly Father to tell me what we should talk about. I thought I should talk about the Priesthood, for we were all holders of the Priesthood in that room. I had just read the talk “Fatherhood – Our Eternal Destiny”from the last General Conference. I was impressed again that the keys and assignments we receive in priesthood offices do not disappear but collect and build upon one another. I shared a few excerpts from this talk. 
 
The Priesthood helps me know my purpose. Because of priesthood power we have prophets, scriptures, modern revelation, ordinances, and temples and church buildings. I have learned on my mission that it is very important to have a purpose. Every morning we recite our purpose and D&C 4. Some want to say it fast to get it over with. I make sure to say it slower and pronounce every German word correctly, for I want to start my day off by understanding the WHY and WHAT of my mission. 
 
President Ezra Taft Benson, a prophet, once said. ‘Day by day [Latter-day Saints] move closer to the Lord, little realizing they are building a godlike life. They live quiet lives of goodness, service, and commitment. They are like the Lamanites, who the Lord said ‘were baptized with fire and with the Holy Ghost, and they knew it not.’ When we continually pattern our lives after that of the Savior and fulfill our God-given roles in church, the family, and society, we become more and more converted to Him. We receive knowledge, light, understanding, and become a new person, and we know it not until it has already happened. 
 
In Doctrine and Covenants 121 we read what a worthy priesthood holder exactly is. When we handle ourselves according to our divine heritage and sacred obligations, as a priesthood holder or not, “the doctrines of the priesthood will begin to distill upon our souls as the dews from heaven. The Holy Ghost will be our constant companion, and our scepter–a clear reference to power and influence–will be an unchanging scepter of righteousness and truth. And our dominion will be an everlasting dominion. And without compulsory means it will flow unto us forever and ever (see D&C 121:45–46)” 
 
This, too, I have learned through the course of my entire mission and know this to be true. Through difficult companions and investigators, personal struggles, and also through the best of companions – who are counted among my eternal friends – and the best of investigators – with whom I bonded, and the experiences when my faith was truly rewarded, was my testimony strengthened, and I “knew it not.”
 
See you in six weeks! 
Elder RR Hoffman
Kirche Jesu Christi der Heiligen der letzten Tage
Deutschland Mission Berlin
Wilhelmsburg-Hamburg 
German train station.

German train station.

download (2)download (1) (1)

One thought on “Week 97: Wilhelmsburg

  1. Pingback: Week 99: Wilhelmsburg | Elder Randell Hoffman

Leave a Reply

