Week 83: Neumunster

A little Chalk Art in the Park!!

A little Chalk Art in the Park!!

 

 

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Moin!

This week was a rather slow one. We are FINALLY done with the old apartment.
President Seidl (Branch President), from Schwarzenberg (one of my former areas), came and helped redo the apartment. We got everything cleaned and repainted. SO much stuff throw away as well! It was really great seeing him again.
As I asked about how everything was in Schwarzenberg, President Seidl told me about Schwester B. As I was there, we would eat at her house every once in a while. (she makes THE best Rouladen!!) But, when we left a spiritual thought, we had to be careful because her husband was not  a member. Earlier, he never let her go to church, thus were her children not raised in the church. In the last several years, he said that she could back to church. He let her do her stuff at church, would let the home and visiting teachers over, and even the missionaries occasionally.
Pr. Seidl told me yesterday that Herr B. – the husband – just woke up one morning and decided to get baptized. I could barely believe it! Even when we were at their house, Schwester B. would talk about how sad she was that her husband wanted nothing to do with the church and only one of her children were a member. I honestly cannot imagine how happy she must be now to have her husband go with her to church on Sundays and to be with her in this grand work. (I have attached a photo of us when we visited them).
Something we have been doing in the last couple of weeks with members is introducing them to the Area Presidency’s goals for all of Europe. It’s really cool! They have three goal: (1) bring a friend, (2) become self-reliant, and (3) find an ancestor. My companion and I found scriptures to go with each point. For the first point we picked out the scripture Doctrine and Covenants 18:14-16:

“Wherefore, you are called to cry repentance unto this people.

And if it so be that you should labor all your days in crying repentance unto this people, and bring, save it be one soul unto me, how great shall be your joy with him in the kingdom of my Father!

And now, if your joy will be great with one soul that you have brought unto me into the kingdom of my Father, how great will be your joy if you should bring many souls unto me!”

Heavenly Father’s joy is so great when even ONE soul comes unto him. Seeing that Herr B. decided to follow the Savior and the promptings of the Spirit fills my own soul with so much joy. This is a godly activity. He let’s us feel His love and joy. As we participate in the work of God, we also partake of the fruits of God’s work: love, joy, eternal happiness, peace, and friendship.

Things are slowly starting to look better with the people we are teaching. We are really learning how to cater to their needs – how we can change the lessons we teach so they listen better, remember, but also – most importantly – APPLY. I am most grateful for those with whom we meet. They are such great people. They help me develop a greater appreciation for my calling, this country, and the restored Gospel of Jesus Christ. 

As a district we have been trying to use some more creative means for finding. Here in Neumünster, we want to find more people for the Genealogy Center. So I drew a big family tree diagram in a park; we have been emphasizing family history and how it can help us find meaning and happiness in our lives (D&C 128:19).

Thanks for all the support I receive. It makes a great difference.

Don’t forget about General Conference in a few weeks. Now is the time to start thinking about what you want out of it and with what kind of questions you want to go into it.

Elder RR Hoffman
Missionary
Kirche Jesu Christi der Heiligen der letzten Tage
Germany Berlin Mission
Neumünster
Familie B.!!! #TogetherForever

Familie B.!!! #TogetherForever

YES!!!!

YES!!!!

Homemade Grandma socks!!

Homemade Grandma socks!!

The coolest thing in Neumünster... a water tower next to our apartment....

The coolest thing in Neumünster… a water tower next to our apartment….

One thought on “Week 83: Neumunster

  1. I am new, and I am elderly, and I can be very stupid at times.
    However, the mother of elder Hoffman and myself are facebook friends and thanks to her I have been reading Elder Hoffman’s blog.
    I find it inspiring, and it is written so well. Everything that he describes, I can visualize. It takes courage and dedication to do what these young people do, I only wish that I was many many years younger.
    Good Health, Courage and Strength to them all, and may God keep them safe in His Protective Hand….Amen.

Leave a Reply

