Week 80: Neumunster

 I found Ritz crackers on Monday!!! :D

I found Ritz crackers on Monday!!! ūüėÄ

 

 

 

Week 80, people! Where has the time gone?! Another transfer has come and gone. Elder Thompson and I will be staying here together for another transfer. BUT… we will be absorbing another district: district Rendsburg, which includes Rendsburg Elders, Flensburg Sisters, and the Rendsburg Senior Couple. It will double the size of our district! Exciting!

We have been wanting to improve our relations with the ward lately. Last transfer we started sending out a daily scripture to some members who were in our phone and some investigators. Everyone absolutely loves it! We pick one scripture out – usually from our personally study – and add short sentence or thought. Almost every Sunday since we started doing this, we have been hearing from members about how much these little messages help them during the week.
We also started baking AMERICAN chocolate chip cookies for the members. When we work in a certain section of the city or in a village somewhere, we bake cookies, put them in bag, and then write the scripture Mosiah 7:19 on the bag:
“Therefore,¬†lift¬†up¬†your¬†heads¬†¬†and¬†rejoice,¬†and¬†put¬†your¬†trust¬†in¬†God,¬†in¬†that¬†God¬†who¬†was¬†the¬†God¬†of¬†Abraham,¬†and
Isaac,and¬†Jacob;¬†and¬†also,¬†that¬†God¬†who¬†brought¬†the¬†children¬†of¬†Israel¬†out¬†of¬†the¬†land¬†of¬†Egypt,¬†and¬†caused¬†that¬†they¬†should¬†walk¬†through¬†the¬†Red¬†Sea¬†on dry¬†ground,¬†and¬†fed¬†them¬†with¬†manna¬†that¬†they¬†might¬†not¬†perish¬†in¬†the¬†wilderness;¬†and¬†many¬†more¬†things¬†did¬†he¬†do¬†for¬†them.”
It is supposed to be a reminder of the many blessings God sends our way on a daily basis.
Last week I also bought myself a harmonica. There is a member who plays this huge harmonica on Sundays after church. I thought it was really cool and got myself one. My little beginner’s harmonica looks like a joke compared to his. But I am excited to practice a little bit here and there.
We were invited to lunch today to an couple’s home – Fm. Gr√ľhn. I mentioned my harmonica and he pulled his out! (despite what his wife said!) He is older and cannot play too well because of his lungs. We enjoy our weekly appointments with the “missionaries’ Neum√ľnster-grandparents.” ūüėÄ
On Wednesday, Elder Thompson asked me to give a lesson on one of the bold headings from Preach My Gospel, which read “Give Testimony Often.” I learned for myself about SEALING up your testimony. As missionaries, we have TWO main tasks: (1) to teach and (2) to testify. We pretended that there was no Preach My Gospel and we were the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles and were coming up with a “PURPOSE” for the missionaries. I suggested: “To teach the lessons.” The other missionaries disagreed. I asked why and they told me that we need to help, show, and bear testimony. Thus our “PURPOSE” as missionaries is to “invite others to come unto Christ, by helping them receive the restored Gospel through….”
President Thomas S. Monson said:
“Regarding¬†one‚Äôs¬†testimony,¬†remember,¬†that¬†which¬†one¬†willingly¬†shares¬†he¬†keeps,¬†while¬†that¬†which¬†he¬†selfishly¬†keeps¬†he¬†loses.¬†‚Ķ¬†Teach¬†and¬†testify.¬†There¬†is¬†no¬†better¬†combination.”
As I study, I find how I can apply to my life. As I share, write down, and internalize doctrine truths, I SEAL up my own testimony and make it apart of me. We learn the doctrine and then finish the whole process as we apply it or share it.
Next week we will be inviting an investigator to be baptized. She is so diligent in studying the Book of Mormon, asking questions, and really being ENGAGED in the lesson. That is how we can tell she is progressing with “real intent and a contrite spirit,” because she wants to understand and find out.
I have such a stronger testimony of the Book of Mormon now. I love reading in it. It completes my knowledge of the Bible. And I am grateful for a prophet who restored this Gospel, not just for the living, but for the dead as well. There is a God. And we lived with Him before this life. And He shows us how we can return to live with Him once more.
Elder RR Hoffman
Missionary
Kirche Jesu Christi der Heiligen der letzten Tage
Germany Berlin Mission
Neum√ľnster
Mexican food in Germany!!! Thanks Mom!!

Mexican food in Germany!!! Thanks Mom!!

New brown shoes!! #abouttime

New brown shoes!!
#abouttime

Graffiti...?

Graffiti…?

Leave a Reply

