Week 77: Neumunster

Thanks for the new suits, family! (I have an identical black one, too)

Thanks for the new suits, family! (I have an identical black one, too)

 

 

My new word is BLESSON. I read that, “it’s when you are able to view a painful lesson as a blessing. A blesson is what happens when you see the blessing in the lesson that your challenge taught you.”

With that in mind, I will explain what happened to us on Wednesday.
On Wednesdays we always go to Bad Segeberg to visit a member. It’s a pretty far trip and we have to buy tickets for the two train rides there and back. We met with the member and, as previously planned, we went to the bus stop to go visit someone who had referred themselves via mormon.org a while ago. We got on the bus and had to buy yet another ticket because our tickets were not good for where this village was. That’s how far away it is.
We traveled along the bus line and looked for the bus stop in that village… and looked, and looked, and grew more and more uncertain with each passing bus stop. We figured we had passed it and figured that we could just get out at the next village that looked big enough in which we could work. We did that.
So we got off in Gnissau. We went to the other bus stop to see when the next bus came in the opposite direction (you learn to do this IMMEDIATELY as a missionary here). After deciphering the bus time-table a few times, we came to learn that there was no bus coming to that bus stop. And after searching the whole “Dorf,” or village, we realized that it was the ONLY bus stop in the entire town. We looked around and saw no one except for a lady with a stroller who ended up not knowing anything because she was also not from there.
The time I have been dreading my whole mission had come. I knew that there would be a time when I would be stuck in a little village somewhere and my only hope would be to call a member and ask for help. So we called our Ward Mission Leader. (What is a missionary to do…?).
I told him where we were and he didn’t know it. I spelled it out and he started looking for it. He asked, “So what you are saying is that you cannot come to our meeting tonight a 7PM?” I replied, “No. What I am saying is that we don’t even know how to get out of here.” Ha!! Luckily he was Bad Segeberg as well and was able to pick us up after he was done with his errands there.
We arranged to meet by “the church,” because there is always only one, big church in every German village. He picked us, we dried off, and we even arrived early in Neumünster for our coordination meeting and got McDonald’s for my first time on my mission. (Shows what I eat!)
In the moment, I was not a happy camper. I was a wet, cold, lost camper.  I was only able to see what was going wrong. It was not until I called upon one of my leaders that I could see hope and be excited. We just had to wait an hour. I can see how God taught me. Not just about faith and patience during such trials, but also of His eternal plan of happiness.
 
We live in a world which, with increasing globalization, is called a “village.” And we are stuck in it, just like Elder Thompson and I were. The only way up and out lies within the powers of God. We must first call upon Him in prayer. When we pray with faith, expecting an answer, He answers. When we make room for the seed of faith in our hearts, He lets it grow. I know this and seen this in my life. Prayer and then “moving our feet” brings happiness. 
 
We could have walked to Bad Segeberg (10 kilometers away) and caught the next train and not gone to our meeting. That would have been okay. But God had a BETTER way, a way that would get us there on time. Plus our WML got us food since we were actually early.
 
BLESSON: a blessing received from a really hard lesson or experience. 
 
We can trudge our way through life, suffering everything for ourselves and alone. But why, when a loving Father in Heaven has provided a sure path back to Him. He wants to help and even sent His Only Son to suffer for us. He gave us rules to live by. When we break them we can repent and make everything better through the Mediator in Christ Jesus. 
 
Two scriptures:
 
“For all have sinned and come short of the glory God; being justified freely by His grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus.”Romans 3:23-24, Holy Bible
 
“And now, I, Moroni, would speak somewhat concerning these things; I would show unto the world that faith is things which are hoped for and not seen; wherefore, dispute not because ye see not, for ye receive no witness until after the trial of your faith.” Ether 12:6, Book of Mormon

 

Elder RR Hoffman
Missionary
Kirche Jesu Christi der Heiligen der letzten Tage
Germany Berlin Mission
Neumünster
Beautiful Einfeld!

Beautiful Einfeld!

Now entering: NEUMÜNSTER!!!

Now entering: NEUMÜNSTER!!!

Oh Gnissau....

Oh Gnissau….

Waiting by the church in Gnissau....

Waiting by the church in Gnissau….

Leave a Reply

