Week 59: Freiberg

 "The Great Baptizing Mission"

“The Great Baptizing Mission”

 

Na?!

This week was a pretty slow week. To be honest. I probably could have worked harder. I have a lot to do here in Freiberg and I am just not quite sure where to start and where to end or even what to do. The best thing would probably be to just do the work and let the rest sort itself out.
This week we set our companionship goals for the week and decided to really crack down on the member-missionary work. It will help (a) get to know the members better and (b) help them in their own missionary work.
I think Wednesday was a very special day this week. We had lunch with the Apel Family. Bruder Apel was the first Stake President in the Democratic Republic of Germany (East Germany). He told us all about how, then, Elder Monson came over and called him as Stake President. He was then called to be the Temple President of the newly built Freiberg Temple. He related to us what President Monson said all those years ago: “President Apel, this is the first time I have called a Temple President who has never been to the Temple himself.” With permission of the East German government, they were allowed to fly to Salt Lake City to go the Temple. They had to leave their children behind as “ransom” of sort, to make sure they would come back. They didn’t even fly through “dirty” West Germany. Prague to Zurich to Salt Lake City. There they were sealed by Elder Monson, shown around, and then shown around a little more of America. They have seen more America than I have… more America than they have seen of Germany, their own home. This couple is really such a power couple. I want to be them when I am old. I think everyone does. He was called as the Mission President a few years ago for the Düsseldorf Mission. There I think he grew such a great love for the missionaries!
I wrote in my journal that you could just feel their love for the missionaries so strongly. If it were any greater, you could probably cut it with a knife. He took paper towels and gave us three sheets still connected and told us to tuck it into my collar so we didn’t get Gulasch on our ties. I wanted to wait until we started eating, but he came over and tucked into my collar for me. I felt like a baby. It was funny.
This week should be a really great week. We have an exchange with the Meissen Elders planned. I will be leading the Freiberg area and Elder Larsen will be with me. He is from San Diego (I think…), but his family just moved to Pleasanton, CA!
Also. IT’S GENERAL CONFERENCE WEEKEND!!!
 


 
I am extremely excited for this weekend. Twice a year we have the opportunity to hear from living prophets and apostles. If you are not a member, I encourage you to check it out. Here you can learn so much about what we believe and do. There are a lot of tenants of LDS-belief that many do not know, and many other silly traditions in the church that people think are part of our faith. Find out for yourself! https://www.lds.org/general-conference?lang=eng
Feel free to email me his weekend and share what you learned.
Have a great week friends and family.
Your missionary,
Elder RR Hoffman
Missionary
Kirche Jesu Christi der Heiligen der letzten Tage
Germany Berlin Mission
Freiberg
My favorite Christmas cookies are out!!!

My favorite Christmas cookies are out!!!

Must have COOOOKIE!!!

Must have COOOOKIE!!!

It's starting to get cold. Double-socking it up!!

It’s starting to get cold. Double-socking it up!!

Oh... hey! Just a little language study with Elder Parmley!!! #IKnowHim!!!

Oh… hey! Just a little language study with Elder Parmley!!! #IKnowHim!!!

Sunday eating appointment with Familie Schiebold!

Sunday eating appointment with Familie Schiebold!

Leave a Reply

