Week 55 (I think): Bielefeld

Elder Hoffman and Elder Lawyer copying the way the Sister Missionaries pose for photos......

Elder Hoffman and Elder Lawyer copying the way the Sister Missionaries pose for photos……

 

 

I think I might be off a week now. Not sure. My math is terrible!

I will start with the good stuff! I am being transferred!!! I being sent to Freiberg! Where the Temple is! I wasn’t really expecting that at all. I have no idea what the Lord has in store for me there; but I am excited about East Germany and He (The Lord) will have cross my path.
This last week, President Seidl was here. He was the Branch President of my last branch. He built our new apartment and travels around the entire mission doing that. He and his counselor came from Schwarzenberg. Their accents and just them being there made me a “East-trunky.”
My new companion will be Elder Gerberding. I will get to know him better throughout this next week.
And speaking of next week! Elder Gerberding and I will be traveling to Halle Friday evening so we can spend the night. Then we will head up to Berlin Saturday morning for our meeting with Elder Bednar! The mission is very excited to have Elder Bednar and his wife come visit us, instruct us, teach us, and edify us. Elder David A Bednar is a member of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles. Because we believe that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is the restored Church that Christ established here on the earth, we believe in prophets and apostles just like in the Bible. And Elder David A Bednar is one of these “special witnesses.” So it is a great treat to have him come visit us and help us in the Lord’s work. He also served his mission in northern Germany, which should be pretty interesting!
So… I think this weeks post will end up just being kind of lame. This last week was filled with moving things from our apartment in the unreachable part of Bielefeld to our new apartment right on the Subway line. That took a while. Plus we wanted to just take all the time now to set and clean everything up; a home base is important to have.
On Tuesday we had our Zone Conference in Stadthagen. Sister Kosak gave a great lesson on memorizing scriptures, what we are doing now as a mission. Elder Richard G Scott said that a scripture memorized and recited in its fulness, as it was meant to be used, is so much more powerful than being paraphrased. 

After our lunch break, there were four shorter lessons from individual missionaries that I really appreciated. They were all called: How to be a better… trainer, district leader, zone leader, and sister training leader. I thought was great. It helped me to be more ready, for whenever the time may come, to lead, as we all should be in the church.
I know my email next week will be better! Sorry!
I really hope everyone has a great week.
I want to testify of the power behind daily scripture study. It has changed my mission – and my life – so much. The more you study, the more you begin to know and improve in your studying skills. You get to know your brain and how you learn and what you even need. We have FIVE standard works in the church: Old Testament, New Testament, the Book of Mormon, the Pearl of Great Price, and the Doctrine and Covenants. And not counting the numerous study guides and manuals and Sunday School help materials and Seminary and Institute manuals. And also not counting some 180 years worth of words of modern day prophets and apostles. Get busy! We are not mortals having spiritual experiences, we are spirits having mortal experiences. What does your spirit want to experience while here in this “tabernacle of clay?”
Elder RR Hoffman
Missionary
Kirche Jesu Christi der Heiligen der letzten Tage
Germany Berlin Mission
Bielefeld
Elder Hoffman, President Seidl, and Bruder Wetzel building the new Bielefled apartment!

Elder Hoffman, President Seidl, and Bruder Wetzel building the new Bielefled apartment!

 Elder Beck's handwriting!

Elder Beck’s handwriting!

My new planner! It's official! FREIBERG!!

My new planner! It’s official! FREIBERG!!

 My trip! We are allowed to buy the expensive trains that don't stop as often now!

My trip! We are allowed to buy the expensive trains that don’t stop as often now!

Leave a Reply

