Week 34: Schwarzenberg

DSC03188

 

 

Hallo Freunde und Familie!

Well. I don’t really have too many crazy stories from this last week. But it was a great one nonetheless.

I picked up Elder Ustach on Tuesday in Zwickau. He came down from Spandau in Berlin. He is from New Mexico. He reminds so much of my friend Evan from BYUI. I think that is why we get along so well. He is a good hard worker and, well, I definitely have a lot to learn from him. He is really great at using every opportunity as a teaching opportunity. I love that!

This last week, we really decided to hunker down and really start working with the members here. We want to help them study Preach My Gospel and talk to their friends, neighbors, etc. Then, yesterday, at General Conference, Elder Ballard talked about this. Our ideas started from my own goal. I wanted every member to be studying Preach My Gospel (a Missionary Guide) and learn the principles contained in that. Elder Ballard invited every member of the Church to provide one person every month for the missionaries to teach. Even in our little Branch, we would be booked the entire month! I know that this invitation is an invitation from God for the members to act – not just the members in Schwarzenberg. For all members. I invite everyone at home to do this as well! Help the missionaries. the are teachers and are trained and set apart by priesthood holders to teach the restored gospel of Jesus Christ. Help them fulfill their calling and do your part as a member of this joyful message of restored peace.

Elder Ballard said that if you are not studying Preach My Gospel, STUDY IT! If you do not have Preach My Gospel, GET ONE! They are $6 at: http://store.lds.org/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Product3_715839595_10557_3074457345616706206_-1__195532

And for a mini Preach My Gospel, it is $4 at: http://store.lds.org/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Product3_715839595_10557_3074457345616706206_-1__3074457345616903723

I invite all members at home to study this book. If you have fears, talk to the misisonaries or your Bishop. They can help you build more faith. If you do not understand, ASK US! TALK TO US! We want you to gain a testimony of this work, too. We want YOU to be a bigger part of it.

I invite all those who are NOT members of the Church as well (family… this means you) to purchase a copy of Preach My Gospel as well. Read it. Study it. See it is what I am doing for Weekly and Daily Planning. What I am teaching. How I decide to set goals and how we reach them.

I am so grateful for this work. I am so glad that I chose a long while not to “sleep during the Restoration.” Präsident Uchtdorf shared the story of Rip VanWinkle who slept through the Revolutionary War in America. May we all wake up now and not sleep during this important time in the Church. When President Thomas S Monson was a missionary, there were only a handful of Temples in the world. Now, there are so many dotting the globe… AND EVEN MORE TO COME! I testify that these are the latter-days of which the prophets of old testify. These are also the days when the Gospel shall fill every land and every man shall hear it. This is the time. The time to act was yesterday.

I love my Savior and am so grateful for the special blessings of the Temple. I could not do this work without either of them!

Until next week.

Ich habe euch so viel Lieb!

Elder RR Hoffman
Missionary
Kirche Jesu Christi der Heiligen der letzten Tage
Germany Berlin Mission
Scwarzenberg

 

New Companion, Elder Ustach

New Companion, Elder Ustach

New hair cut!!  : )

New hair cut!! : )

This is where I threw up in the AUe Bahnhof.

This is where I threw up in the Aue Bahnhof.

 

Leave a Reply

