Week 26: Schwarzenberg

Holy 6 Months! Time flies by! Valentine’s day will mark 6 months since I entered the MTC! I am so grateful for every single day that I have had. There are a few days that I would prefer not to revisit again… but grateful nonetheless!

This week felt really great to get back into working again. We had a lot come up that we had to go through first: meetings and new apartment stuff.
On Monday, as we were traveling to Chemnitz for our P-day will the District and the Zone Leaders, we sat at the bus stop next to a man waiting for his bus too. We asked where he was going and he said he was waiting on the same bus as us and that, after he got to Stollberg with the bus, he had to take the same train to Chemnitz as us – to the same stop even! It was the perfect time to teach him about The Restoration and some questions he had. The man comes from the CRG (Congo). He has been looking for truth his whole life. He is one prepared man. There are absolutely NO Africans here in this part of East Germany. But, yet, we somehow found the ONE African that lives here.
We met with him on Saturday and taught him about the Plan of Salvation. He had a hard time accepting why we had to forget everything from our premortal life. But he said that he would accept anyways and wait until he figured out it was true. He is so prepared! He already knows how to find out if something is true or not. We extended a baptismal date for him for the 22nd. He said he would love to be baptized the right when he knows it is true – which I know he will know. Ya know…? ha!
Wednesday was also our Zone Training meeting in Chemnitz. We enjoyed, yet another, fun train ride with the Schwarzenberg Sisters. I am not sure what we would do without them! The Sister Training Leaders gave an amazing lesson on what Grace is, how we can receive God’s grace, and what it is. And it all came from the Bible Dictionary (Grace, Prayer, and Repentance). Grace was a word that I had not fully understood and was something I wanted to study, but kept forgetting. Now I know! It meant a lot to me. I forgot to tell them that.
Afterwards we all went to lunch at some Italian place. It was great to spend a little time with Elder Conley before he left for a little while. He is a transfer younger than me on the mission and his father is not doing too well now. I am excited to see him again soon and hope everything works out for him at home. We both are “horse guys” and call each other “bronies” (bro’s plus ponies = bronies…). And Elder Grenko! I am glad that I have a good friend in Elder Grenko. He is yet another inspirational missionary. He is a good example for me and I hope to be somewhat like him someday.
Oh! And my talk yesterday. It went very well. I remembered the majority of the words I was supposed to use. I think I helped a few people in the congregation understand something about true conversion and what the fruits of true conversion look like. Everyone told me that it was a really good talk. I am not sure; definitely not my best. My only in German so far though.
One week left in this transfer. We find out Saturday morning who gets transferred. I am expecting to stay.
This week in my personal study, I finished reading Chapter 3 of Preach My Gospel and making outlines for the 4th and 5th lessons. I started reading Chapter 5, about the Book of Mormon. I love everything in the Church is connected. The Church, without the Book of Mormon, Joseph Smith the Prophet, priesthood keys, Jesus Christ, etc. cannot stand. The Book of Mormon is so crucial. I have a testimony that, when our Friends of the Church know the Book of Mormon is true, the rest of their learning process will be much easier. The Book of Mormon answers the questions of the soul!
Here’s to another 18 months!
Good luck to my cousin, Cassie Braithwaite, who enters the MTC in Mexico City this week! She will be serving in the Reno Mission, Spanish speaking. As well as Mekenna Wilson, who will end up in the Philippines teaching THOUSANDS! Good luck to the both of you. We will end up giving our home coming talks on the same Sunday ;D
I also want to extend all my love and gratitude to the Alamo First Ward. Thank you for your letters and emails of support. Whatever challenged you are facing now are for your benefit. You are all so very strong and faithful; Jesus Christ can make up the rest. Use him. Change with Christ means nothing. Be who He needs you to be.
http://germanyberlinmission2012-15.blogspot.de/2014/02/copyright-sister-wallin-composed-and_4.html

Elder RR Hoffman
Missionary
Kirche Jesu Christi der Heiligen der letzten Tage
Germany Berlin Mission
Schwarzenberg
Clubhaus!!  : D

Clubhaus!! : D

Stairs that we have to climb daily to get to our apartment!!  UGH!!!

Stairs that we have to climb daily to get to our apartment!! UGH!!!

Sisters on the train coming back from Zone Confrence

Sisters on the train coming back from Zone Confrence

Morning snow on the walking path

Morning snow on the walking path

Morning snowMorning snow

Elder Hoffman and Elder Larson

Elder Hoffman and Elder Larson

One more selfie....... : )

One more selfie……. : )

Selfie from Germany  : )

Selfie from Germany : )

Leave a Reply

