Week 23: Schwarzenberg

Hello Friends and Family!

First, to start. I feel impressed to write to my family. I feel like I need to let you all know that I pray everyday for you – sometimes individually. I know that at the end of these two years (one and half almost now) our relationships will stronger and better than before. I know that Section 31 of the Doctrine and Covenants is true. (here is a link to read for yourself). This ection was written to a man who was called to serve a mission when the Church was first being orgainized. He was afraid to leave his newly started family. Jospeh Smith gave him these words of encourage and they still stand for all missionaries today. http://www.lds.org/scriptures/dc-testament/dc/31?lang=eng I hope you all make wise choices. I hope you can see the blessings of my service here in your own lives. I send lots of love your way. Let me know if there are things I need to pray for!!!
This week ELder Lrson and I worked really hard to get some new people. We found an area where we could always find one or two interested people. But, the Germans here are very cautious about giving their contact information away. That makes it very hard to find them later and to stay in contact to teach them. One young man said he would just come to our Church yesterday: he didn’t and we have no way of contacting him again. Another lady wanted us to come find her at the Ice Skating rink in Schneeberg and meet with her while her daughter skated. We planned to find her and meet with her for an hour. We couldn’t find her. So this week I am going to try harder to make sure we make an appointment or get some information.
Yesterday, for some reason, I realized that Schwarzenberg is is going to come with a lot of trials. I am going to learn and grow here a lot. I think this will be my place to change myself. I am not sure how I am supposed to change or what I am supposed to change. But I think I am going to become the “Elder Hoffman” that Heavenly Father wants me to become.
We had an appointment with one man on Wednesday. We had a lesson prepared, but we were not able to use it. We said one sentence and then he started asking questions. The whole night just went in a different direction from there. The Elders in the past have just had religious discussions with him and that is what he was used to. Some of the questions were extremely difficult to answer. They were not questions one could simply answer. He was testing us, trying our beliefs and asking, “Do you know that or believe that?” I am very thankful that we had our Branch President there with us as a Joint Teach. He helped me notice something when he talked about this experience in Ward Council this past week. He said, “And, Elders, we can say that we answered every single one of his questions. And we are going back there next week.” As tough as every question was and as much as I thought that I could not answer those questions, between the three of us, we did it. As a normal member at home, not set apart, I know that I would not have been able to answer them all as well.
The Church is true. I know I am a representative of the Lord. I know my growth is real and worthwhile – despite the temporary pains.
Elder Lucerna from the MTC  said that he doesn not want to ENDURE to the end. He wants to ENJOY to the end!
Elder RR Hoffman
Missionary
Kirche Jesu Christi der Heiligen der letzten Tage
Germany Berlin Mission
Schwarzenberg
Schwarzenberg Schloss (Castle)

Schwarzenberg Schloss (Castle)

 

A poem at someones house....... I will translate it next week.

A poem at someones house……. I will translate it next week.

 

Schwarzenberg with snow.

Schwarzenberg with snow.

 

The church with snow..... compared to last weeks photo.....

The church with snow….. compared to last weeks photo…..

 

Leave a Reply

