Week 20: Christmas in Nuekolln

Frohe Weihnachten Familie und Freunde!

One Christmas down. One more to go! It is weird to think about next Christmas. KEINE Ahnung!! I don’t think I am supposed to think about that right now.
Well. For Heiliger Abend we ate at a couple’s house. The are notorious for feeding the missionaries… a lot. For an appetizer we had enchiladas. The man made enchiladas for an APPETIZER! Then, he made Rolladen (like a rolled up steak with cucumbers and onion inside), homemade Rorkohl, and Klössel the size of my fist. For dessert, the husband brought out halved melons with a whole in the middle with ice cream and whipped cream. Then he stuck a sparkler in the melon and lit it. Then we ate it…. Then we went to the Christmas Program at the Church. Then they made us come back for… more dessert… Käsetorte and Mohnkuchen. MENSCH! We were done for the night. Ha!
Luckily the next night we ate only soup.
We had an eating appointment everyday except for Monday and Saturday. Those were our prep and relaxation days. So much food this week! I will be eating soup and salad all this next week.
On Friday we ate at an older lady’s house. She made duck for us. That was a first for me. It was’t the worst type of meat I have eaten. Also, not my favorite. ha!
Later on Friday, we brought two New converts to the Church for a lesson about preparing to go to the Temple. Things got a little hairy; didn’t go exactly how we thought. They started teaching each other and talking about the Bible. It was super cool to see them use things that we taught them and what they have learned so far in the Church. They are both very ready for their next, respective steps in the Gospel. I hope they can go with the Ward in April to the Temple.
A few weeks ago we received a referral from the Spandau Elders. They found a man fom Egypt who was interested in what they were teaching. He is now moving down to our area and we are teaching him now. He is a Coptic Christian. His family received lottery visas to the States. But he is too old to be considered a dependent. So now he is in Germany learning the language and looking for a job. He has a friend that is interested as well. We are inviting him to be baptized on the 25th of January. So say your prayers for us!
As I was doing personal scripture study this week, I found a lot of scriptures about how important it is for us to keep good thoughts. I was reading in the Gospel of Mark. Jesus and his Disciples were breaking bread without washing their hands, per Jewish tradition. Christ said that what comes out of the mouth is more important than what goes in it. When we have bad thoughts and intentions within us, that is what comes out. This past week I have been practicing my little Church talks or sermons in my brain when I feel like thinking of something unimportant. And I feel much happier and more more effective. This helps me to remember what I studied in my personal study time. And now I can practice memorizing hymns and scritures when we are one the bus or on the U-bahn to help, just like President Packer always advises.
Matthew 12:36
Matthew 14:34-36
Matthew 15:1-20
Psalms 25:3-4
Mark 7: 1-23
Doctrine and Covenants 121:34-36, 45-46
2 Nephi 9:39
Galatians 6:7-8
Philipians 4:8
Romans 8:6
Mosiah 4:29-30
Also! Do not forget to reflect on the past year! Were you prepared for what happened or for what you learned? So often we are not prepared for what the Lord has for us. Whatever Heavenly father, or even Satan, sends your way, be prepared to get through it and learn a lesson. The comfort, peace, and joy from a loving Father in Heaven is always there.
Sweet hour of prayer! Sweet hour of prayer!
That calls me from a world of care
And bids me at my Father’s throne
Make all my wants and wishes known.
In seasons of distress and grief,
My soul has often found relief
And oft escaped the tempter’s snare
By thy return, sweet hour of prayer!
And oft escaped the tempter’s snare
By thy return, sweet hour of prayer!
 
Sweet hour of prayer! Sweet hour of prayer!
Thy wings shall my petition bear
To him whose truth and faithfulness
Engage the waiting soul to bless.
And since he bids me seek his face,
Believe his word, and trust his grace,
I’ll cast on him my ev’ry care
And wait for thee, sweet hour of prayer!
I’ll cast on him my ev’ry care
And wait for thee, sweet hour of prayer!
Elder RR Hoffman
Missionary
Kirche Jesu Christi der Heiligen der letzten Tage
Germany Berlin Mission
Neukölln

 

 DSC02475DSC02482DSC02483
Leave a Reply

