Matthew 4:10

Then saith Jesus unto him, Get thee hence, Satan: for it is written, Thou shalt worship the Lord thy God, and him only shalt thou serve.– Matthew 4:10

I never realized how powerful Satan can be on the those serving the Lord. Ever since I opened my mission call, I feel like the expectations from Heavenly Father for me have been raised a lot higher. Originally, they were slightly raised to the “Mature College Freshman” level; now they are way up there at the “RM” level and I know I won’t meet that for a while – probably not until I am actually a Return Missionary.

Everyday for the past few weeks has been struggle. I know what I need to do and how I am supposed to do it all; but the struggle are the thoughts that enter my mind that aren’t mine or the Lord’s.

I was not entirely sure about how to get myself out this “rut.” But I learned that we have complete power over the Father of all Lies. We can tell him, in the name of Jesus Christ, to depart from our minds and lives. With his power thwarted, I feel such a greater sense of peace and determination. He tells me that I am inadequate and will never learn the language. Lucifer whispers to me that I will never understand the problems of the people I will meet in Germany. He makes me question myself and my ability to serve – but not my worthiness, necessarily. But if we are to become true disciples of Christ, we must learn how to dismiss Satan from our lives and accept or place the power of Christ in our lives instead. 

My struggles are not dissimilar to others’. I love when Peter rights, “… think it not strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened unto you…” (1 Peter 4:12). I just love his use of the word strange. The trials we experience are not strange, forlorn, forgotten, unusual, or individualistic. They are known, identified, subdued, mended, and are the content of many prayers. It is hard to remember on a day-to-day basis, but we are not given any trial that is beyond our capability to handle. 

RH

Leave a Reply

